District One Foundation

Carrollton, IL 62016
Fax: 217-942-9259

Dedicated to enhancing educational opportunities
for all students in the
Carrollton Community Unit School District,
Carrollton Illinois

Who We Are
The District One Foundation was chartered in 1994. It is a tax-exempt, not-for-profit foundation chartered by the State of Illinois. The DO is a Section 501c (3) organization and all contributions are tax deductible under section 4942 of the Internal Revenue Service code. The Federal Employer ID number is 37-1314937.

Funds are raised through donations, grants, memorial bequests and various other charitable activities. The Trustees welcome your time and help with DOF sponsored projects and any contributions or gifts.

Our Goals
The foundation is dedicated to enhancing the educational opportunities for all students in the Carrollton school district. The Trustees plan to continue to promote and support the academic programs of the school district and to sponsor additional scholarships for deserving graduates.

What We Have Done

  • Funded a farm safety program through the Clyde Hembrough Charitable Trust for Greenfield and Carrollton Vocational Agricultural students.
  • Established an elementary K-4 Early Bird tutoring program.
  • Procured a grant from Pfizer for the high school science program.
  • Acquired funding to purchase science equipment to study genetics, to make classroom science kits and provide materials for Special Education classrooms.
  • Assisted with tuition grants to seniors who participated in special career training at Lewis and Clark Community College.
  • Assisted with tuition grants to students enrolled in educational summer camps.
  • Supported Carrollton Teachers with DOF Enhancement Grants.

What We Are Currently Doing

  • Funding scholarships to seniors graduating from Carrollton High School, ranging from one scholarship totaling $1,000 in 1994 to 68 scholarships totaling $50,630 in 2017. Since 1994, DOF has funded scholarships totaling $576,792.
  • Sponsoring summer STEM camps as well as educational summer camps for elementary students from Carrollton, St. John’s-Carrollton and Greenfield (for the fourteenth year) funded in part with support from the Clyde Hembrough Charitable Trust.
  • Sponsoring the Weekend Food Program which distributes take-home meals to students each Friday. Currently 55 students benefit from this program.

How to Contribute
Anyone interested in establishing a scholarship may contact one of the trustees or call the Superintendent’s office at 217-942-5314. The Foundation’s committee for scholarship selection is available to assist individuals and organizations in selecting scholarship recipients. All awards are made without regard to age, disability, race, sex, creed or nationality.

Anyone interested in making a contribution to the Foundation may fill out the attached form and send it to the address at the top of this page.

Our Current Donors
Becky Adcock Memorial
Bill & Becky Bandy Memorial
Jerry Carmody Memorial
Melvin Carter Wheeler/ CHS Class of 1967 Memorial
Carrollton HS - 50 Year Class
Carrollton Lions Club
CHS, Inc.
Emma Lou Carter Memorial
District One Foundation
Stanley Frech Memorial Trust
Mary E. Harland Scholarship
Hawk Pride Scholarship
Hires Family Scholarship
Thomas W. Hough Scholarship
Hough Family Scholarship
Alfred H. and Ruth Johnson Memorial
Mike Kiger Memorial Scholarship
Elby & Bonnie King Memorial Scholarship
Dr. William D. Lewellen Memorial Scholarship
Dick Mehrhoff Scholarship
Guy and June Petty Memorial
Pohlman Family Scholarship
Donna Reichmann Scholarship
Scott Jeffrey Shafer Memorial Scholarship
Ronald E. Steinacher Music Education Scholarship
Nina Weber Memorial Scholarship

Our Trustees
Officers and trustees serve on a voluntary basis. All funds are used to benefit students.

Dr. Kerry Cox, Superintendent Lisa Meisenheimer
Diane DeShasier Gordon Rahe
Leona Freand, Treasurer Amy Struble
Larry Gillingham, Secretary Anne Sturgeon
Andrea Harr Bob Walker, Chairman
Rich Hires, Vice Chairman Tammy Weber
Suzanne Hough Cindy Willenburg
Travis Klingler Lynette Williams
Linda Lake

2017 Scholarship Recipients

Jayce Arnett Christien Pond
Cameron Blair Wade Prough
Liz Bland Carley Pyatt
Alyssa Cox Hannah Robinson
Emma Curtner Lane Schnettgoecke
Emily Davis Eric Shofield
Abigail Gilmore Brendan Settles
Anja Goetten Jerrett Smith
Lauren Gray Jacob Stendeback
Lynzee Kraushaar Emily Struble
Justin Kutter Brant Varble
Brad Lake Macy Wade
Lindsey Lake Jeremy Watson
Kaylea Moss Hannah White
Grant Mullink

Scholarship Grants

1994 - $ 1,000
1995 - $ 1,250
1996 - $ 7,250
1997 - $10,250
1998 - $10,250
1999 - $10,250
2000 - $15,100
2001 - $19,355
2002 - $17,455
2003 - $26,750
2004 - $26,650
2005 - $25,437
2006 - $26,105
2007 - $27,832
2008 - $27,534
2009 - $29,570
2010 - $34,491
2011 - $37,078
2012 - $36,700
2013 - $32,310
2014 - $30,843
2015 - $36,050
2016 - $37,085
2017 - $50,630


District One Foundation for Quality Education Donor Form

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.